During the 2011-2012 school year, the state of Texas implemented a new student assessment program known as the STAAR (State of Texas Assessment of Academic Readiness) which will replace the TAKS (Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills) for students currently enrolled in grades 3-9. Current 10th and 11th grade students will continue to take TAKS.

By Texas law, any state assessment must be based on the state standards, Texas Essential Knowledge and Skill, commonly referred to as the TEKS. Both the standards and the state assessments have progressed over the last 30 years, most recently moving from TAAS (Texas Assessment of Academic Skills), to the current TAKS and now to the introduction in 2012 of STAAR. STAAR will assess the TEKS standards in a deeper, more rigorous way and include new performance standards for all grades, subjects, and courses tested. The new performance standards are expected to be announced in December, 2012.

For more information……



2011-2012 Student Assessment Testing Calendar

2012-2013 Student Assessment Testing Calendar

STAAR Questions and Answers

STAAR General Information

STAAR General Information (Spanish)

From TAKS to STAAR (Parent Guide Grades 3-8)

STAAR EOC Assessment

STAAR EOC Assessment (Spanish)